Sometimes there is rain

Leave a comment

Last night, we had just a little bit of rain here in the ‘Ham. I couldn’t help but hope that it cleared up in time for my morning run. The rain also made me remember my very first 22 mile run last Fall. It was done entirely in the rain. Yes, 22 miles in never ending rain. It was also done with three of my very favorite people in the entire world.

20120529-194631.jpg

The most amazing part of the run was that two of the four runners didn’t actually need to run 22 miles or run in the rain. You know what? They did it anyway. You might ask why they would choose to run through solid rain on a VERY long run that they didn’t need? It can simply be described as true friendship. Two of us needed the run, rain or not, and the other two were going to be there for us, rain or not.

One of the best things I’ve taken away from running are the friends I’ve made. I can honestly say that they are some of the best friends I’ve ever had and I know they will be with me, rain or shine. Ironically, the same group of four ended up at the Disney Princess race earlier this year. What a great celebration of a fun running year together.

20120529-195314.jpg

Love you ladies! Here’s to many more runs in the rain.

How would you describe the friendships you have made running?

Leave a Reply

